Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Fraud Assessment for Small and Medium Sized Businesses


Total Credits: 4 including 4 Business Management & Organization - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   6
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Industry |  Practice Management |  Professional Development
Speaker:
William F. O’Brien, MBA, CPA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
4 Hours

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

It is virtually impossible to pick up the daily newspaper and not find an article on some type of fraudulent event. In the wake of the “Era of Fraud, Waste and Excess,” one might suspect that potential fraudsters would think twice before committing illegal acts. However, just the opposite seems to be the case.  Is there really more fraud or is there simply more fraud awareness?  The harsh reality is that it is a little bit of each.  Not only has fraud worldwide reached a level of over $7.0 billion in lost  revenue but savvy C-level executives now realize that it could happen to their companies—very easily. When you put these facts together, it adds up to a completely new era of vigilance.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Reviewing the basics of fraud
  • Creating a fraud-savvy model
  • Stopping fraud in its tracks
  • Understanding 10 steps for action today

Major Subjects
  • The fraud triangle
  • The fraud savvy model
  • Symptoms of fraud
  • Benford's Law
  • The net worth method
  • The vulnerability chart
  • 10 steps for action today

Course Materials

Speaker

William F. O’Brien, MBA, CPA's Profile

William F. O’Brien, MBA, CPA Related Seminars and Products


WILLIAM F. O’BRIEN, MBA, CPA, is a financial management consultant and educator with over 40 years of experience. He has held senior financial management positions with Intel Corporation and ROLM Corporation and served as CFO for several emerging high technology companies. Mr. O’Brien has extensive experience in corporate planning, financial analysis, cash management and managerial accounting in both domestic and international settings. He has served on the faculties of Santa Clara University and San Jose State University and is a frequent financial seminar speaker in both the U.S. and abroad. 


Dates

Fri, Jul 26, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CDT
Fri, Aug 09, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:32pm CDT
Tue, Aug 27, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:32pm CDT
Thu, Sep 05, 2024 - 08:00am to 11:32am CDT
Sat, Sep 21, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CDT
Wed, Sep 25, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:32pm CDT
Tue, Oct 01, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:32pm CDT
Mon, Oct 28, 2024 - 08:00am to 11:32am CDT
Wed, Nov 13, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CST
Wed, Nov 27, 2024 - 12:00pm to 03:32pm CST
Fri, Dec 06, 2024 - 02:00pm to 05:32pm CST
Tue, Dec 17, 2024 - 05:00pm to 08:32pm CST
Sat, Dec 28, 2024 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CST
Mon, Jan 06, 2025 - 12:00pm to 03:32pm CST
Thu, Jan 16, 2025 - 02:00pm to 05:32pm CST
Sat, Jan 25, 2025 - 08:00am to 11:32am CST
Fri, Feb 07, 2025 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CST
Tue, Feb 18, 2025 - 05:00pm to 08:32pm CST
Fri, Mar 07, 2025 - 02:00pm to 05:32pm CST
Tue, Mar 25, 2025 - 08:00am to 11:32am CDT
Wed, Apr 02, 2025 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CDT
Sat, Apr 19, 2025 - 12:00pm to 03:32pm CDT
Thu, Apr 24, 2025 - 06:00pm to 09:32pm CDT
Thu, May 08, 2025 - 08:00am to 11:32am CDT
Mon, May 26, 2025 - 10:00am to 01:32pm CDT
Fri, Jun 06, 2025 - 12:00pm to 03:32pm CDT
Tue, Jun 17, 2025 - 05:00pm to 08:32pm CDT
Sat, Jun 28, 2025 - 08:00am to 11:32am CDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For CPAs and senior financial executives
Original Recording Date 01/25/2024
Course Developer William F. O'Brien, MBA, CPA, San Jose State University, San Jose, CA
Date Added to Catalog 01/04/2024
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.8

Total Reviews: 6