Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Gamed: Why Performance Targets and Incentives Fail and How to Fix Them


Total Credits: 4 including 4 Business Management & Organization - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   26
Categories:
ACPEN Industry Institute |  Human Resources
Speaker:
Bernie Smith
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
4 Hours

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Target setting can drive breathtaking positive results, the moonlandings, the eradication of smallpox or the repair of the ozone layer, for example. 

They can also have a dark side that can put executives in jail, bring global businesses to their knees and even cause wholesale loss of life. 

Using practical examples and case studies, this course walks you through the steps you need to follow to design robust, effective and credible targets for your organization.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Be familiar with the 33 common forms of target and incentive failure and their causes
  • Understand the 10 steps of the ROKET- DS design system
  • Have had the chance to apply the method to a case study in interactive workshop exercises
  • Feel confident applying the ROKET-DS method to their, or their client's, businesses

Major Subjects
  • 10-step ROKET-DS system, a simple structured method for designing meaningful targets and incentives which will help you ...
  • Create targets and objectives that align with your strategy
  • Build engagement with your target owners
  • Test your targets and incentives rigorously for unexpected outcomes and dangerous loopholes

 


Course Materials

Speaker

Bernie Smith's Profile

Bernie Smith Related Seminars and Products

Founder

Made to Measure KPIs


Bernie Smith, founder of Made to Measure KPIs, trains and coaches businesses to develop meaningful KPIs and present their management information in the clearest possible way to support good decision-making.
His approach has been adopted by many organisations, including Airbus, HSBC, UBS, Lloyd’s Register, Credit Suisse, Royal Bank of Scotland, LloydsTSB and many others. He has written twenty books on KPIs, regularly tops this category on Amazon and is a frequent key-note speaker on performance measurement.

Earlier in his career, Bernie, who qualified as a professional engineer, worked as a consultant leading teams delivering exceptional operational improvement in blue-chip companies using Lean and Six Sigma approaches. This broad industry experience has given him a unique perspective when it comes to developing KPIs to improve organisational performance.

Bernie lives in Sheffield, UK, with his wife Liz, two children and some underused exercise equipment.


Dates

Tue, Jun 18, 2024 - 06:00pm to 09:42pm CDT
Mon, Jul 01, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CDT
Thu, Jul 18, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT
Fri, Aug 02, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CDT
Mon, Aug 19, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT
Sat, Sep 07, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CDT
Mon, Sep 09, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CDT
Wed, Sep 25, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT
Tue, Oct 08, 2024 - 05:00pm to 08:42pm CDT
Wed, Oct 30, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT
Thu, Nov 07, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CST
Fri, Nov 15, 2024 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CST
Mon, Dec 02, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CST
Sat, Dec 14, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CST
Thu, Dec 19, 2024 - 06:00pm to 09:42pm CST
Fri, Dec 27, 2024 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CST
Wed, Jan 15, 2025 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CST
Tue, Jan 28, 2025 - 03:00pm to 06:42pm CST
Mon, Feb 03, 2025 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CST
Sat, Feb 22, 2025 - 10:00am to 01:42pm CST
Tue, Feb 25, 2025 - 05:00pm to 08:42pm CST
Mon, Mar 10, 2025 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT
Mon, Mar 24, 2025 - 03:00pm to 06:42pm CDT
Tue, Apr 01, 2025 - 06:00pm to 09:42pm CDT
Wed, Apr 16, 2025 - 11:00am to 02:42pm CDT
Sat, May 10, 2025 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT
Fri, May 30, 2025 - 03:00pm to 06:42pm CDT
Mon, Jun 09, 2025 - 09:00am to 12:42pm CDT
Mon, Jun 16, 2025 - 11:00am to 02:42pm CDT
Thu, Jun 26, 2025 - 01:00pm to 04:42pm CDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For

Business professionals who:

  • Are tasked with creating new, effective, performance targets and incentives
  • Those who need to fix existing, problematic, performance targets and incentive schemes
  • Want a structured and practical design framework

Original Recording Date 07/2022
Course Developer Bernie Smith
Date Added to Catalog 07/07/2022
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.7

Total Reviews: 26

Comments

David S - LAS VEGAS, Nevada

"Mr. Smith is a very dynamic speaker with fabulous presentation skills.He keeps the course very interesting and moved at a nice pace, keeping the viewer engaged."

Stroh J - Virginia Beach, Virginia

"Great course!"